What is SSC CGL and how to prepare for SSC CGL: Complete details

SSC CGL exam is conducted every year to recruit candidates to various Grade ‘B’ and ‘C’ posts in various departments and ministries of the Government of India. SSC CGL exam pattern and syllabus is released by the officials of the official notification.

Aspirants must check SSC CGL syllabus and also download SSC CGL previous year question papers before starting SSC CGL exam preparation.

There are four levels involved in the SSC CGL selection process. Where the first two levels are computer based objective tests. The third level is a descriptive pen and paper based test to be conducted in both English and Hindi.

What is SSC CGL?

SSC CGL is a national level competitive examination conducted by the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) to shortlist candidates for Group-B and Group-C posts in various Ministries/Departments/Organizations of the Government of India.

Every year, around 30 lakh candidates fill the SSC CGL application form for this exam and around 15 -20 lakh candidates appear for the exam.

  • This exam is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission in four stages called Tiers.
  • This exam is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission in four stages called Tiers.

SSC CGL Highlights

Exam NameSSC CGL (Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level)
OrganizerStaff Selection Commission (SSC)
Exam Level National Level
Every YearOnce
Exam Process Online
Exam FreRs. 100
Exam Duration 1 Hour, 2 Hour Tier wise
Purpose of ExamCandidate Selection for Group B and C
Exam Language Hindi & English
Official Website https://ssc.nic.in

What is the full form of SSC CGL?

Generally the full name of SSC CGL is ‘Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level’ exam in Hindi. It is conducted by the SSC Board to recruit candidates for Group B and C posts in various government departments/ministries/offices.

Full form – Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level

What are the posts in SSC CGL?

Staff Selection Commission specially conducts SSC CGL exam to recruit candidates in various organizations, departments, offices under the Government of India. There are different types of job posts under this.

Because, it is a national level exam and recruitment to Group B and Group C posts in government departments is done through this exam.

Below is the list of various posts under it for which SSC CGL exam is conducted:-

SSC CGL PostGroup
Assistant Audit OfficerGroup “B” Gazetted (Non-Ministerial)
Assistant Accounts OfficerGroup “B” Gazetted (Non-Ministerial)
Assistant Section OfficerGroup “B”
AssistantGroup “B”
Inspector (Central Excise)Group “B” 
Assistant Enforcement OfficerGroup “B” 
Sub InspectorGroup “B” 
InspectorGroup “B” 
Junior Statistical OfficerGroup “B” 
Statistical Investigator Grade-IIGroup “B” 
Inspector of Income TaxGroup “C”
AuditorGroup “C”
Accountant/ Junior AccountantGroup “C”
Senior Secretariat Assistant/ Upper Division Clerks Group “C”
Tax AssistantGroup “C”
Upper Division ClerksGroup “C”

Eligibility for SSC CGL

Nationality/Citizenship: It is mandatory for a candidate to be a citizen of India to apply or appear for the SSC CGL exam.

Educational Qualification: To appear in the SSC CGL exam, the candidate must have a graduation degree.

Note: Bachelor’s degree can be from any recognized university or institute. That is, the candidate having a bachelor’s degree in any discipline will be considered eligible to appear in the examination.

Physical Eligibility: The minimum age of the candidate should be 18 years and maximum age should be 32 years.

Proof requirements for reserved categories

Candidates who want to avail reservation benefits (SC, ST, OBC, EWS, ESM) will have to submit the relevant certificate from the competent authority in the prescribed format.

Otherwise their reservation claim will not be considered and their candidature will be treated under Unreserved. The format of the certificate is given in the detailed SSC CGL Officer Notification.

Disability certificate issued under the Persons with Disabilities (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Authorities and Full Participation) Act, 1995(1996), will also be valid. Certificate in any other format will be rejected.

Candidates seeking the benefit of reservation for OBC must ensure that they have administrative certificate and do not fall in creamy layer.

It is to be noted that the reserved category status of the candidates will remain provisional till the authenticity of the relevant documents is established and approved by the concerned authority.

Candidates who falsely claim reservation for SC, ST & OBC and EWS or any other benefit will be debarred from the examination conducted by SSC CGL.

SSC CGL Nationality Eligibility Criteria

Nationality wise SSC CGL Eligibility Criteria requires a candidates to be a resident of the prescribed countries only. An applicant must satisfy any one of the following conditions:-

  • Applicant should be an Indian citizen.
  • Candidate can be a subject of Nepal or Bhutan.
  • Candidates are allowed to be Tibetan refugees who came to India before 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India.
  • The applicant must be of Indian origin who has come to India from Burma, Pakistan, Sri Lanka or East African countries like Uganda, Malawi with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Additional Specifications for SSC CGL Nationality Criteria

All candidates except Indian citizens must have a certificate of eligibility issued by a competent authority in the Government of India.

Necessary eligibility certificate is required for the candidates mentioned before being offered appointment.

Candidates may be admitted to the examination before the production of certificates but the final recruitment will be done only after that.

Leave a Comment